#18 Satyr’s Emerald Dreaming

For those on my personal Facebook page know, this soap got a lot of action back in March because I needed a name and couldn’t think of one. The winner with the most votes received a free bar.

DSCN3712-2It came down to Satyr’s Emerald Dreaming and two bars went off to their new homes. I received good reviews from those who have tried it, and my husband, M~, asked me to set another bar aside for him. Hee!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I know I am late in posting this, and there is only one bar left on my Etsy site. I gotta say though, working with both fragrances and essential oils, I love the essential oils, but the prices on fragrances are by far a lot better. For instance, for this bar here, the Wormwood alone was nearly $13 dollar for a little .5 oz bottle. When a 3lb batch can take up nearly 3 ounces, it gets crazy expensive fast. Thankfully, most of my friends have been happy with fragrance oils – but this was made on special request.

My friend Tina and her daughter, “K” were given a sample bite of this soap, but unfortunately, they showed allergic reactions to it. Wormwood is in the same family of Asteraceae as Ragweed . Though, I do believe, I am also allergic to ragweed, I did not have the same allergic reactions to it.

Wormwood is not just for drinking from an Anise flavored alcoholic drink, but can also increase sexual desire and the imagination. Ooo la la! Maybe I should make sure M~ uses it more often!

Wormwood isn’t the only essential oil, remember, its an expensive oil and I needed to pair it with other oils. It blends well with the Sandalwood FO, Patchouli EO (Deodorant? No wonder hippies douse themselves with it!), and I added the Peppermint EO for an extra crisp and clean smell (and also great for your skin!) to the overall huskiness of the woods.

INCI Ingredients:

Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe) Leaf Juice, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Sodium Hydroxide*,  Elaeis Guineensis (Palm) Oil**, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Helianthus Annus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) Fruit, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Spirulina Platensis Powder, Activated Charcoal, Montmorillonite (French Green Clay), Fragrance,  Santalum Album (Sandalwood) Powder (infused in Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil),  Artemisia Scoparia (Wormwood) Powder (infused in Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil), and Sodium Lactate.

This entry was posted in Cold Process Soap and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

