Tattoo Lotion and Balm

My friend’s daughter decided to get a tattoo. She had decided on it when she was fourteen, but was only allowed at seventeen to get it with her mother’s blessing. And the state. I think. Age limit and all. Anyway, I told her that I would make her some tattoo balm, expanding on the basic lotion bar recipe and adding some feel good oils to help the healing process.  That was Friday. On Sunday, this was the update:

Update on the lotion bar you made [daughter] – she’s been putting it on any time it begins to itch or after she washes her hands. it’s stopped the scabbing process and it’s reducing the generalized swelling from the work.

This sounds like a win to me.

DSCN3993

The ingredients I used:

Coconut Oil – This oil has a million and one uses, and using it on the tattoo is no different. Its antibacterial and anti-inflammatory, among other things. You can read about the benefits in a host of places, you can get started here, this one and this.

Avocado butter – This is a deep penetrating oil packed full of vitamins such as A, B1, B2, D, E, lecithin, and omega 3’s. I picked this butter for its moisturizing and healing properties. You can read more here and here.

Mango Seed Butter – This is another good butter full of vitamins and able to heal the skin. You can read more about it here and here.

Shea Butter – Another moisturizing butter with vitamins A, E, and F. You can read more here and here.

Beeswax – This provides a breathable layer while still protecting the raw skin while its healing. Its also antibacterial. I’ve read as much from a number of sites, but you can also read about it here.

Cocoa Butter – This is a butter that is high in antioxidants and works as a moisturizes and emollient. It also soothes skin irritation. You can read about it here, here, here, and here.

Emulsifying Wax NF – This is what allows water and oils to combine together to create a creamy texture. It’s one of the nasties I use (and may discontinue based on what I read tonight – though the alternatives might not be as good either). It’s a combination of Cetearyl Alcohol and Polysorbate 60.

Tamanu Oil – This is a rare nut from the South Pacific which grows in sandy coastal places. It’s said to be a healing oil with anti-inflammatory, anti-neuralgic, antibiotic and antioxidant properties. I’ve been using it on a gouge on my shin that never healed quite right, and its not so angry and red as it used to be. It’s one of those (expensive) wonder oils you can read more about here, here, and here.

Aloe Vera extract – Aloe Vera is known for its healing properties and prevents infection. You can read more here.

Vitamin E – I added vitamin E to this balm because its known healing properties and moisturizing. A little goes a long way.  Read more here and here.

Optiphen – This is a non paraben, non formaldehyde preservative system.

For my friend’s daughter, we chose not to use the essential oils, which I had a combination of Tea Tree, Lavender, and Rosemary that I was going to combine. I’ve read in various places that tea tree oil can have mixed results for tattoos. Lavender was praised. No commentary about Rosemary and tattoos. Anyway, we wont know with this particular tattoo.

If there is anyone that can give me a heads up on something other than EWax NF for lotions, I would appreciate it.

This balm isn’t listed on my Etsy website. If you want a bar, let me know.

This entry was posted in lotion bar. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

