SLS, Acne, and Psoriasis

I came across a couple articles that I thought I would share.

The first is regarding Sodium Lauryl Sulfate: What is Sodium Lauryl Sulfate (SLS) And Why We Must Avoid It? It’s a degreaser that is in many soaps and shampoos, as well as dish soaps. It’s also a toxin. It comes with a video that goes down a couple different grocery store isles to show just how many products do contain SLS.

When I got to the bottom of the page, I came across Why Buy Handmade Soaps? Other than the reasons listed, the ingredients added to handmade soap can be pronounced and identified easily. It might be more expensive, but you know exactly what you are buying, and know it it’s not toxic to skin and body. I have LOVED, LOVED, LOVED the experience this past year in making soaps. Its been such an amazing experience. But I also love the comments of how much people love using the soaps. Though, a reaction I get often in the beginning when I ask if someone wants soap, they ask, “Why? Do I smell?” 

I have two teens in my life; my “niece” and her boyfriend are at the age where acne is just part of life. So I was interested to read this one: Different Types Of Soaps That Aid In Acne. For them, they have been using my soaps to wash their face. I haven’t formulated any soap specifically for the face but I like using the Four Thieves and Tea Tree & Clary Sage. The Tea Tree and Clary Sage was made as a shampoo soap, but I like the Tea Tree on my face, too. Anyway, the teens seem to have been able to cut down on their break-outs just from switching to a handmade soap. For instance, in 5 Natural Remedy To Effectively Cure Acne Problems, honey, coconut oil, and tumeric are mentioned. I use coconut oil in every batch of soap, so some of the properties of coconut oil comes through in the finished product. The Oats and Honey soap has a dollop of honey added to the batch. I might need to formulate something with turmeric. Hmm. The gears have just started on what to whip up for acne soap. *ponder*ponder* I’ve also read of mixing clay and honey into a mask to help with acne and skin blemishes.

A friend of mine has psoriasis, and though I can’t make any medical claim regarding handmade soaps versus what you can find commercially in the drug store, just going for something with natural ingredients is a step to feeling better. Natural is the Way to go for Psoriasis Sufferers mentions using a gentle soap and applying moisturizers after. I can take it a step further and mention that any handmade soap will be gentle to the skin and still retains the glycerin that moisturizes. I currently don’t have anything formulated specifically for psoriasis, though I do keep an eye out for oils, essential oils, and whatnot that are good for soothing the skin. I have a Sandalwood Vanilla coming out that he requested, but I still haven’t been able to find certain vegetable oils that are supposed to be good for treating psoriasis.

This entry was posted in Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

