#25 – Ocean Breeze

This batch was the brain child of my friend, Jennett, when she messaged me a couple of her ideas, this was one of them.

“Ocean Breeze”~Strengthen hair with ocean minerals supplied by fresh kelp water and crisp cucumbers scented with mint essence for a breeze that will calm your nerves and ease split ends!

I love having friends with a flair for marketing. ūüėČ

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I had run out of aloe vera, so I wanted to be certain I had that, and the nori for the kelp component. I picked up both at my local health food store on Friday so I could soap this weekend. I soaked the nori in aloe vera over night to give the aloe vera a boost in all of those minerals and vitamins. It turned the aloe vera purple, but the lye turned it back to green. I strained most of the nori out of the aloe vera, only adding a couple teaspoons into a small portion of the soap to see how it behaved. It smelled fishy. I was concerned.

When looking up the benefits of seaweed, or nori, in soap, I came across the following on Ehow.com, though I would take it with a grain of salt. (Ha! I’m so pun-ny sometimes):

Possible Additional Benefits

  • Some manufacturers claim their seaweed soap can also detoxify the body, increase metabolism, reduce cellulite and even have a slimming effect by stimulating the thyroid with the iodine seaweed contains. Research has not been done to prove or disprove these claims, but many users report success with certain soaps for these purposes.

I don’t think I added enough nori for this particular batch to have that huge effect. Only the one sheet, but I didn’t add it all into the bar. Smelled too fishy to me, and I didn’t want it to over power any of the essential oils, especially the mild scent of cucumber essential oil.

To the aloe/lye mixture, I added the liquid silk though I’m thinking I didn’t add enough. Been browsing some forums talking about the differences between the liquid and the tussah, having used both, I miss the tussah. I need to find another source. The tussah silk (as well as other ingredients) in smaller quantities at Soap Making Resource is not cost effective for me – great company though, and I’ve used them and loved their stuff and their customer service. Shipping is normally fast, except when having major sales (at least that one time a year ago). Though, glancing over those same forums, someone mentioned The Scent Works. I get my boxes and labels from them. Hmm.

I read that sodium lactate makes a harder bar and moisturizes, but I don’t think I’ve been using enough. My Mad Scientist picked up a gallon of it for his own science projects, so I’ve been dipping a few millimeters off the top at a time. I normally use about 4 ml in a 3 lb batch of soap. ¬†However, visiting the Bramble Berry site, it says to use a teaspoon per pound.

This batch has the essential oils of Cucumber¬†(“The oil is used in many treatments for anti-aging, acne, eczema, psoriasis, wrinkle reduction, dry scalp, sunburn, stretch marks, brittle nails and damaged hair. This oil is proved to improve the elasticity of the skin and balance the nutrients required by the skin.”), Ylang Ylang¬†(”¬†Ylang ylang oil is an excellent moisturizer for the skin. It balances the production of sebum of the skin and helps in maintaining a healthy skin. Ylang ylang oil has been effective in treating split ends, wrinkles and few other aging problems.“), Spearmint¬†(“It has restorative, antiseptic, insecticide, carminative, stimulant, antispasmodic, emenagogue and cephalic properties….Certain skin disorders like acne, congested skin and dermatitis are also treated with the healing effects of Spearmint oil.”), Peppermint¬†(“Peppermint oil is used to treat numerous disorders like acne,… ¬†sunburn,… drowsiness,… ¬†mental fatigue,… tension,…” I only snagged what might benefit in the shower.), and Rosemary¬†(“It is sometimes used in care of the scalp in relation to dandruff control.”).

Each of these essential oils has many benefits for the skin and hair, for instance, the cucumber will help with sunburns. Mixed with aloe vera, this will be a wonderfully gentle soap for the summer. The rosemary, the small amount that I added, helps in extending the shelf life of the soap. Overall, the scent is divine. My kitchen smells wonderful.¬†‚̧

Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Sodium Hydroxide, Olea Europaea (Olive) Oil,

Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Hydrogenated Palm Oil, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Hydrogenated Avocado Oil, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) Fruit, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Nori, and Fragrance.

This entry was posted in Cold Process Soap and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

