One year later

I made my very first batch of soap a year ago on April 28th. It’s a citrus blend that I copied from a Soap Making Resource recipe, nearly ingredient for ingredient, with a couple additions which you can read all about here.

This soap was cut with a guitar string, which is why its ragged and uneven.

This soap was cut with a guitar string, which is why its ragged and uneven.

The above picture was taken a year ago right after it was cut – the day after it was poured. The following picture was taken a couple days ago.

DSCN3898-2

Not much of a difference, right? I’m pretty pleased that the color and scent has stuck around so long. A year later and no DOS (dreaded orange spots). My Summer Solstice is based loosely on this recipe, with a few changes to make it my own.

So, I decided to check out how my laundry soap did (which I blogged about here and here when I was still talking about my soaping hobby on my personal blog). I used all vegetable shortening. Please keep that in mind when viewing the next couple photos.

I’ve only done one load of laundry with this soap, but I didn’t like how it smelled, since it didn’t have any scent. I like my laundry to smell yummy. I haven’t touched or looked at this batch in months.

This batch is also over a year old, poured on May 3rd. It was partially gelled, which I didn’t know what that was at the time. I thought it was odd, but was more concerned with the soap ash on top. It also was cut and photographed the day after it was poured.

May 3rd, 2012:

DSCN2315

A year later, May 31, 2013:

DSCN3902-2

What in the…?! Yuck! I have it stored in a drawer on freezer paper. I stuck my hand down to grab these four to bring them out and immediately dropped them back into the drawer when I felt how slimy it was. It smells. I can’t place the smell, but smells like its rotting. So, I went and got a paper towel and a plastic bowl and set them up for their photo shoot. I’m actually embarrassed to be presenting these, but its a learned lesson. Don’t use cheap oils. This seems like DOS to the extreme. Do any of my soaping followers know?

This entry was posted in Cold Process Soap and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One year later

  1. Tina says:

    Vegetable shortening will go rancid.

Leave a Reply

