#21 – First attempt at Lotion bars

I was asked to show my soap at the KETCH Artisan Fair on May 5th. I received the email on April 18. I had about 40-ish bars of soap and didn’t think it would be enough for a fair. I figured I should make more stuff, but 2 weeks is not enough time to make a batch of cold process soap. So I was looking for alternatives.

This post is about my failed attempt at lotion bars.

I found the recipe over on the Otion Soap Blog for the Ultra Healing Lotion Bars, but made some adjustments. I didn’t add any extracts but added a couple other things.

Ingredients:  Sweet Almond Oil, Mango Butter, Cocoa Butter, Beeswax, Shea Butter.

I scented four bars with the 4-thieves blend, another three with the lavender & lime sorbet blend, and left three without any scent. One of the 4-thieves has been used for my personal use.

Well, by the time of the fair, the bars were starting to separate between the oil and the wax. *grumps* But the moment its rubbed into the skin, its fine. I just don’t feel right selling something that doesn’t also look like its supposed to. Sooo.. back to the drawing board for the lotions.

My Fair helper wanted me to bring them, so I agreed. But I sold the bars at half price and advised of the issue.

I love having the lotion bar for work because my hands dry out sooo much, and this keeps them supple. I shuffle a lot of paper at work, and dry hands makes it far easier to get paper cuts. But not when I keep them hydrated. 

I’ll do more research and experiment a bit with this again. I’m wondering if the added ingredients was the issue with my batch. Hopefully with some tests, I can come up with something that wont separate.

This entry was posted in lotion bar. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

