#17 – Four Thieves blend soap

Not even going to lie, this bit of inspiration came from Soaping 101’s Cathy. I did not use her same recipe, I made my own so I can eventually sell it on my Etsy site. But she has been a source of inspiration to me on several of my projects, like the beer soap and cupcakes. šŸ™‚ Ā Here is her video:

From Mountain Rose Blog, the 4 thieves blend is Clove Bud, Lemon, Cinnamon Bark, Eucalyptus, Rosemary, but other antibacterial essential oils could be used such as Tea Tree, Sage, Lavender, Bay Laurel, to name a few. Full list is on the blog. I used the standard essential oils this time around. If I’m feeling froggy next time, I might play with some of the alternatives.

I kept the colorants natural, I still have a TON of color from Soap Making Resource because I got the kit. It’s taking me time to figure out how much color I should use, since the colors are kind of light in this batch. But I would at least like some contrast in the colors. I might need to add more colorant to those that tend to be darker. I just dont want to add too much.Ā I generally don’t like a lot of dark colors in soap. Or bright colors. Although, bright colors I like using with soaps I intend for kids.

Edit: With this batch, a friend and her daughter came over to help me. I told them to wear old clothes with sleeves, then gave them gloves and face masks to wear. Tina mixed the lye for me, with my supervision, of course. I let her daughter measure out all the oils and mix it up. I measured out the essential oils, since it can beĀ temperamental – it would rather pour down the length of the bottle, instead of out into the measuring cup. Tina poured the lye and mixed it up, her daughter chose which design to do. She really liked the coat hanger swirl. It really came out very well! It looks like fire wisps. šŸ™‚

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ingredients:
Aloe vera gel and sodium hydroxide (lye).
Vegetable oils: Olive oil pomace, Coconut oil, Palm oil, Sunflower oil, Cocoa Butter, Shea butter, and Castor oil.
Colors: Alkanet root, nettle lead, indigo, and safflower.
Essential Oils: Clove Bud, Lemon, Cinnamon, Eucalyptus, and Rosemary.

This entry was posted in Cold Process Soap and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

