Batch #14 – Honey and Oats Goat’s Milk soap

With 40% olive oil, this honey and oat goats milk soap is still pretty soft. I’ve been reluctant to take any single bar pictures because it is so soft. However, it has been cut. I’ll give it a couple days and see if I can take some pics.

I made it on February 3rd, a day later than I intended. I wanted to do something for Imbolc, for Bridget  but I have no access to sheep’s milk. I was thinking of getting some dried heather and adding it on top, but I can’t find the botanical anywhere. Maybe I don’t know where to look. Mountain Rose Herbs is, unfortunately, out. So, this is the best I could do.

There is no color or scents, so this one will be good for sensitive skin. It does have colloidal oats mixed in, so might not be so safe for a baby’s delicate skin.

It cracked down the middle within the first few hours. I felt the heat rising up from the crack, and the way I explained it to my husband, M~, was that it was like a volcanic vent with heat wafting out of it. I even added sound effects. He was amused but not impressed.

As an idea, I decided to fold a piece of freezer paper the length and width of the top of the mold and set it down on top of the soap, then I stuck the soap in the refrigerator. I was pleasantly surprised that the heat sealed the crack back up, and of course, the cold of the fridge kept the milk from baking.

Overall, the smell is nice, but rather plain to me.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ingredients:
goat’s milk, sodium hydroxide, sodium lactate
Vegetable Oil: coconut oil, olive oil, olive oil pomace, sunflower oil, avocado butter, castor oil, shea butter.
Extras: honey, colloidal oats, oats

Edit 03-09-2013: GRR! I have a mouse. It ate all the oats off the top of the soap. So I cut the tops off, washed off the soaps and put them back on the drying rack. The little effer is still eating my soap! I dont know what to do with this batch. *SIGH*

This entry was posted in Cold Process Soap and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

