Batch #12 – Lavender

I ordered supplies last week, so I had been waiting (im)patiently for them to arrive. Three deliveries later, and everything I need is here. So, I made soap. 🙂

I have 10 soap recipes I am going to be doing over the next few days.

First up is the Lavender. A friend of mine mention  loving the combination of lavender and eucalyptus, but when I was sitting here wafting essential oil fumes at my face, it smelt like it was missing something. I added lime. And I liked it. Yum!

I added two natural colorants, indigo and spirulina. I am hoping the indigo will turn a shade of violet. The spirulina powder is swirled in for a splash of green color.

This is the first time using this mold, even though I bought it waaaay back in August. I have no idea why I havent used it before then? Probably because its only 9 bars, and with the loaf mold I can get up to 12. So, these will be thick bars. This mold comes with a lid, which I had added before realizing that I forgot the lavender buds. I had to slowly lift up on the mold because wet soap was sticking to the top, which gave me this wonderful texture. I didnt have the heart to smooch it all back into the mold with the lid. This is the first time I’ve been able to get such wonderful peaks! Who knew I just needed to mash something down on top of it?!

My whole house smells of essential oils, it has my nose twitching something crazy right now, because its an overload. I need to find a plastic storage bin to store them all so I can give our sinuses a break.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It’s made with Distilled water, Aloe Vera gel, and Sodium Hydroxide.

Saponified Vegetable Oils include:
Olive oil pomace
Coconut Oil
Palm Oil
Shea Butter
Avocado Butter
Castor Oil

Essential Oils:
Lavender
Eucalyptus
Lime
Rosemary

color:
indigo powder
spirulina powder

botanical:
lavender buds

I will update tomorrow with more pics after I cut the soap from the mold.

This entry was posted in Cold Process Soap and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Batch #12 – Lavender

  1. mijnzeep1 says:

    So beautiful, love the top! Where are the cup pics? 🙂 Thanks

  2. Thank you very much! I added one cut pic, with natural lighting, but not working with the best camera. Just a little point and shoot. I’ll take more soon. 🙂 Soaps are needing some clean up because it was a pain trying to get it out of that slab mold. >.<

Leave a Reply

