Batch #10 – Drunken Lumberjack

Thursday:

Finally got around to making beer soap. I had left a bottle of beer opened in the fridge overnight, but it still had carbonation when I poured it into the pan. I was able to dissipate the carbonation by swirling the spoon through it until the bubbles subsided. Then I added the aloe vera, swirled it around some more until it looked flat enough.

I’ve been using Rooto Household lye, but I recently received an order from Essential Depot with their food grade lye and when I used it, I could really smell the difference. Rooto seems stale in comparison, whereas ED’s lye was strong. However, ED didnt get nearly as hot and cooled down quickly in the cold water bath (pan of lye solution sitting in a sink of cold water). My three helpers were outside making sure the squirrels stayed in the trees and the neighbors stayed on their side of the fence. I was wearing a face mask, but it will pretty powerful.

To color it, I picked up some titanium dioxide (TiO2) earlier in the day and used the Moroccan red clay I had bought earlier this past summer from Soap Making Resource.  I’m using the TiO2 here as a pigment, but one of its commercial uses is in sunscreens as a UV blocker. I read over on the soap bar blog about TiO2 safety, and the general consensus on the debate is that the easily accessible TiO2 is fine, just avoid ultrafine or nano particles. I wont go into the particulars here since the post is summed up rather well.

The clay, I chose less for its color and more for its properties. Moroccan red clay, or also known as Rhassoul clay, has been used to reduce dryness in skin, improve skin clarity and texture, and remove surface oils.  I’ll be washing my face with it when its cured to see if it reduces the flakiness.

I was going to leave most of the batch plain, whatever color (brownish) the beer did to the soap, then 2 smaller amounts with TiO2 and the red clay…However, I wasn’t paying attention. I mixed the TiO2 in olive oil, then, without thinking, added the clay to the same cup. I looked at the two cups, one with plain olive oil and the other a light pinkish adobe color. So… yeah… three colors and plain. I totally meant to do that.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Made with Boulevard Wheat Beer, aloe vera, lye

Vegetable Oils: Olive Oil, Palm Oil, Coconut Oil, Shea Butter, Castor Oil.

Colors: Titanium Dioxide, Moroccan Red Clay.

Essential Oils: Clove Bud, Orange Sweet, Cedarwood Atlas, Rosemary.

Lauric 12 | Myristic 5 | Palmitic 21 | Stearic 5 | Ricinoleic 3 | Oleic 42 | Linoleic 8 | Linolenic 0 | INS 156

When deciding on the essential oils, I was looking for more of a redneck valentines soap … for men. (Or unisex, because I fully intend on using this. Mmm.) I’m using links to Mountain Rose Herbs because they have such a detailed listing of essential oil properties, but I did not order my essential oils from MRH. Not this time around. Clove Bud. Orange Sweet. Cedarwood Atlas. Rosemary. There’s a bunch of antis, good for the skin and hair, and so on.

What I found amusing is when M~ walked in the house, he immediately said, “It smells like sawdust and beer.” Hee! I even saw him going to the soap and sniffing it several times. I’m looking forward to the cut.

Over on my personal FB page, there were two different conversations about what to name this soap. So… here’s the poll. Please vote responsibly. Or something.

Saturday:

I’m not exactly pleased with the turn out, but I don’t dislike it either. The scent is wonderful. I just wish the swirl had more bold lines of color in it. Instead, they are thin, and hard to distinguish from one color to the other. It also seems like the white and darker brown got shoved to the side of the soap. It may just be easier to leave colors out of beer soaps altogether and let the beer’s natural color do its thing.

 

Edit 03-09-2013: I decided to go with the Drunken Lumberjack name.

This entry was posted in Cold Process Soap and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

