Batch #9 – Pomegranate, chocolate, oats and goat’s milk soap

It’s been over a month since this post? I’m such a tease. And I’m also a day late, but I’ve also been battling a virus for over a week. If I had more followers than three, I would say you were all very patient. Ok, ok, all three of you have been very patient.

When trying to come up with something to go with fresh pomegranates last month, there were a few options  out there in the Google-verse, but nothing seemed to strike my interest until I came across Oh My Veggies, a vegetarian food blog, with the yummiest breakfast idea ever (and lots of other yummy ideas). Pomegranates, chocolate, and oats. To put this in perspective, my grandmother would make me oatmeal when I was a youngster. She fed me oats with raisins, honey,… and brewer’s yeast. Yeah, brewer’s yeast. It ruined oatmeal for me for many, many years. And honey. And cooked raisins.

However, chocolate and pomegranates… this is sooo much better! Now, go look at her post. Go now! I’ll wait. 😀

.

.

.

Doesn’t that look amazing?! So yummy and tasty.

Unfortunately, my soap didn’t turn out nearly as colorful as I imagined. It still smells wonderful. As it cures, I’m hoping the colors deepen. I used the plop method, because the fragrance oils had sent the oils into thick trace pretty quick. Then I swirled it, but I think I swirled too much.

I was wanting something that was good for the holiday season, moisturizing because winter dries out my skin, but still yummy smelling. Chocolate is a guilty pleasure, but it also has antioxidants, elevates mood and increases focus. At least eaten, not sure how much of that will remain in the bar of soap after saponification.

Pomegranate has lots of benefits, too, (vitamins A, B5, C, E, potassium, polyphenols, phosphorus, calcium), said to be an antioxidant, as well as a good moisturizer for the skin. It’s even been called the “elixir of youth”. Again, I’m not sure how much is retained in soap.

I’ve read that the properties in aloe vera (as an example) remain in soap after sapinification, but the only way I will know that about my soap is getting it tested. Once I’m comfortable with the R&D phase, I’ll look into testing my products.

If I make this next year, I intend to change up ingredients. What is listed is what I had left on hand. However, I’d like to play with cocoa butter and pomegranate seed oil for this soap for next time. And add black walnut powder to the chocolate portion, the color is too close to the pomegranate portion. Or maybe cocoa powder.

I had some goat’s milk left, so 58% of the liquid is goat’s milk, the rest of the liquid is water with a dash of silk. I really wanted something that would moisturize during the winter. My skin is feeling sooo dehydrated right now.

So uhm… the oats? I meant to mix that in the entire batch before I started separating it out for different scents and colors, but eh.. I forgot. I had ran the oats in my coffee bean grinder, had them ready to one side… And… completely forgot about them. Instead, I added them to the top of the loaf and gave the soap and oats a good mixing on top. Next time I’ll be sure to remember. The ‘good mixing’ was a wee too much.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ingredients:

  • Olive Oil
  • Coconut Oil, 76
  • Palm Kernel Oil Flakes
  • Shea Butter
  • Safflower Oil
  • Sweet Almond Oil

Additives:

  • Pomegranate juice
  • Colloidal oatmeal
  • Chocolate extract
  • Madder Root Powder

Scents:

  • pomegranate and vanilla FO
  • nutmeg EO
  • grapefruit, pink EO

According to soapcalc, based on water as the liquid: Lauric 17 | Myristic 6 | Palmitic 11 | Stearic 7 | Ricinoleic 0 | Oleic 43 | Linoleic 11 | Linolenic 1

This entry was posted in Cold Process Soap, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Batch #9 – Pomegranate, chocolate, oats and goat’s milk soap

  1. I have always been fascinated with soap making, but all I can manage is melt-and-pour. So this is rather exciting–having one of my recipes made into a soap! I’m glad it worked out (even if it didn’t look like you wanted it to!). 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by! Your recipe looked so amazing, I had dreams about it being soap for weeks. Hehe! I’m sure future tries will look better. I’m still new to this whole soap making thing. If you like, I can send you a bar after they’ve had time to cure (generally between 4-8 weeks).

Leave a Reply

