Batch #6 – Peaches and Cream Goat’s Milk Soap

From the beginning of my soap making adventure, I’ve been wanting to play with goat’s milk.  I’d like to say that the milk comes from my goats, but alas, the amount of land a goat needs and the size of my backyard is vastly different. My dogs like my yard, but a goat would demand more. Like grass, and less holes from canine hobbies. So, no goats for me. Instead, I bought some at the health food store (months ago), weighed it out, and froze it until I was ready to use it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My inspiration came from a Vicky K, her contribution listed on another website here.

Ingredients:

34% Coconut oil
5% Jojoba oil
17% Canola oil
9.5% Palm oil
9.5% Palm Kernal oil
20% Rice Bran oil
5% Shea Butter

A friend of mine mentioned having a skin condition, psoriasis. From my quick research from some online forums of those who suffer with psoriasis, olive oil and goat’s milk are  supposed to be good for psoriasis. Both are supposed to be super gentle for the skin and nourishing and to help ease the break outs. I’m also reading that kukui nut oil, from Hawaii, is also good for psoriasis. I’ll look into that later. Unless anyone can confirm it. Note: This is not a cure for psoriasis.

In this batch, I changed out the Olive oil and added Canola instead.  Sadly, my friend just happens to be allergic to olive oil. Since Canola oil is high linoleic/linolenic, its good to keep it below 10-20% for the rancidity factor. I’ll have to keep an eye out for DOS (dreaded orange spots), just in case the 17% was too much.

I know I should never add liquid (water, milk, etc) to lye because it could erupt into a marvelous volcano –  spewing caustic lye all over the kitchen, but in this case, the milk was frozen cubes when I added it to the lye. I swirled the milk cubes around, the milk-melt clumping up the lye into weird yellow globs. As the milk melted, so did the lye globs. However, this step, I would normally weigh out the water, then slowly pour the lye into the water.

I was afraid of rancid milk due to heat, so I kept the temp down, placing the pan into a sink of cold water. I started measuring the temp around 40°, then by the time it hit 78°, I combined the milk/lye mixture with the oils.

I wanted to keep the oils close to 80°, rather than heating them up to 130°, then trying to cool it down in the sink of cold water. It wasn’t ideal because I didn’t have another dish for this, but I heated up the more solid oils, like palm kernel oil, coconut oil, and shea butter, in the microwave. Nuked them for about .30-1:30.  Even this method, the oils were at 90°, so they needed to be cooled down.

I used Pine Meadows‘ fragrance oils Vanilla Cream and Georgia Peach. I split the batch in half and poured the Vanilla Cream in one half of the batch, then Georgia Peach and Paprika into the other half of the batch. I’m not sure how much paprika because I added it in small amounts, mixed it up, then added more if I felt the color was too pale. I wanted a peachy sort of color. Initially I thought I succeeded, but looks like I should have gone a shade darker since the vanilla side has darkened during the setting stage.

I poured each color in over each other in layers, but I should have poured over the spatula to keep from getting a peachy glob down the middle. I know for next time. It smells heavenly, and still looks nice, but not what I was wanting.

After a couple hours, I noticed the crack starting to form down the middle, and if I pressed the sides down to reform the crack, the heat pouring out felt like a the crevice of a volcano. Not nearly so hot, but in miniature, it was interesting to witness. I decided to put the soap in the refrigerator instead, hoping the cool temps would sap the heat.

When I cut the soap, I wasn’t exactly pleased with the results, as I mentioned, the peachy color is clumped in the middle. I also think it might have looked even better with three colors. A third, even darker shade to mix somewhere in the middle. Perhaps I could also use mica or glitter to give it a shimmer in the middle of the soap. Hmm, next time.

Lauric – 21 | Myristic – 8 | Palmitic – 15 | Stearic – 5 | Ricinoleic – 0 | Oleic – 31
Linoleic – 9 | Linolenic – 0 | INS – 161

This entry was posted in Cold Process Soap, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

